CONTENTS

Preface		ix
1	Introduction: Taiwan's Presidential System and its Six Majestic Presidents	1
2	President Chiang Kai-shek	19
3	President Chiang Ching-kuo	45
4	President Lee Teng-hui	76
5	President Chen Shui-bian	104
6	President Ma Ying-jeou	133
7	President Tsai Ing-wen	161
8	Summing Up, Conclusions and Final Thoughts	189
Index		216